Awards sponsored by:

The Hispanic Radio Conference is proud to announce the 2021 Medallas de Cortez finalists. While only seven will carry home the prestigious award, all of the following professionals have proven themselves to be the best of the best in Hispanic radio. The awards will be presented at the conference on September 22 at the Intercontinental Hotel in Miami and are sponsored by vCreative.

The Medallas de Cortez awards are named in honor of Raoul Cortez, founder of KCOR, the first Spanish-language radio station in the United States, in 1946. His passion, dedication, and visionary nature are not only the stuff of which dreams are made, but serve to inspire to carry forward those dreams and continue to make Hispanic radio a compelling force in media and the communities it serves.

In addition to honoring the winners in each of these categories, this year’s presentation will be part of a festive ceremony beginning with a musical tribute by BMI recording artist Elston Torres to Emilio Estefan, who will receive the Medallas Distinguished Leadership award. A gala cocktail reception will immediately follow the awards.

Conference registration includes admission to the awards and reception.

Register now before the price increases to attend the conference and the presentation of these coveted awards.

Here are this year’s finalists:

Marketer of the Year
Elisa Torres
AIRE Radio Networks
Julie Garza
Curtis Media Group, WYMY-FM, Greensboro-Winston Salem-High Point, NC
Karina Cerda
Entravision Communications, KLYY-FM, Los Angeles, CA
Stacie M. de Armas
Doug Brisotti
Curtis Media Group, WYMY-FM, Greensboro-Winston Salem-High Point, NC
Local Personality of the Year
Dani Lomeli
AeroStar Media, KNIV-FM, Salt Lake City, UT
Patricia De Lima
Audacy, WLZL-FM, Washington, DC
Ana Maria Caraballo
JVC Broadcasting, WBON-FM Nassau/ Suffolk, NY
Maria del Pilar
Mega Philadelphia, WEMG-AM/FM, Philadelphia, PA
Angelica Vale
Meruelo Media. KLLI-FM, Los Angeles, CA
William Franco
Spanish Broadcasting System, WXDJ-FM, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale-Hollywood, FL
Raul Brindis
Univision, KLTN-FM, Houston-Galveston, TX
Syndicated/National Personality of the Year
Alberto “El Terrible” Cortez
AIRE Radio Networks
Enrique Santos
iHeartMedia/iHeart Latino
Edgar “Shoboy” Sotelo
Shoboy Productions, Entravision Communications
Raul “Rico” Colindres
Carmen’s Calls, Skyview Networks
Stephanie Himonidis
El Show de Chiquibaby, MLC Media
Dana Cortez
The Dana Cortez Show, Skyview Networks
El Bueno, La Mala, y El Feo
Program Director of the Year
Candy Cintron
Audacy, WLZL-FM, Washington, DC
Estee Martin-Santoni
Cox Media Group, WOEX-FM, Orlando, FL
Andrea Becerra Prado
Entravision Communications, KRCX-FM, Sacramento, CA
Jorge Melendez
Mega Philadelphia, WEMG-AM/FM, Philadelphia, PA
Elena Jovel
Spanish Broadcasting System, KRZZ-FM, San Francisco, CA
Arturo Sosa
Spanish Broadcasting System, WSKQ-FM & WPAT-FM, New York, NY
DOS/Sales Manager of the Year
Debbie Flores
Entravision Communications, KKPS-FM, McAllen-Brownsville, TX
Armando Lapido
iHeartMedia, WZTU-FM, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale-Hollywood, FL
Maria Ignacia Velazquez Vargas
Lazer Broadcasting, KMQA-FM, Bakersfield, CA
Crystal Gomez
Entravision Communications, KLYY-FM, Los Angeles, CA
Patty Valdes
Spanish Broadcasting System, WXDJ-FM, WRMA-FM, WCMQ-FM, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale-Hollywood, FL
Eric Garcia
Univision, WXNY-FM, WQBU-FM, WADO-AM, New York, NY
Market/General Manager of the Year
Shirley Davenport
Curtis Media Group, WYMY-FM, Greensboro-Winston Salem-High Point, NC
Humberto Hormaza
Entravision Communications, WNUE-FM, Orlando, FL
Dr. René Heredia
Guadalupe Radio, KZNO-FM, Los Angeles, CA
Mark Masepohl
Univision, KLNO-FM, KFZO-FM, KDXX-FM, KFLC-AM, KESS-FM, Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX
Sabina Widman
Univision, KLNV-FM, San Diego, CA
Station of the Year
AeroStar Media, Salt Lake City, UT
Spanish Broadcasting System, Miami-Ft. Lauderdale, Hollywood, FL
Audacy, Washington, DC
iHeartMedia, Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL
Spanish Broadcasting System, New York, NY
Univision, New York, NY